The 2024 contest is over, but check back for more information about next year’s contest.

Bill Boggs Fiction Contest Guidelines:

  • Submit either a flash, medium, or traditional-length fiction story.
  • Submit fiction stories through SLAB Submission Manager
  • Submit your $10 PayPal entry fee.
  • All entries considered for publication.

Work submitted outside of our reading period (August 1st – March 17th) will not be read.
We encourage you to read over back issues of SLAB to see if your work is akin to the work we have previously published.
SLAB is only seeking unpublished work.

Our 2024 Judge:

Kerry Neville* is the author of the short story collections Necessary Lies and Remember to Forget Me. Her fiction and essays have appeared in publications such as The Gettysburg ReviewTriquarterlyThe Washington PostThe Huffington Post, and elsewhere. She is the Coordinator of the Undergraduate and MFA Program in Creative Writing at Georgia College and State University where she is also an Assistant Professor. In 2018 she was a Fulbright Scholar at University of Limerick, Ireland.

First Place:

$650 and publication in SLAB.


$400 and publication in SLAB.

Contest Rules:

All winners will be published in SLAB.
All entries considered for publication.
All manuscripts are submitted to the readers and judges anonymously.
*Current and former students of the judge are ineligible to enter.